Emmet fox devotional April

The End Is Secured
The course of our life depends on the decisions and choices we make. Sometimes it appears that the immediate consequences of a decision are not to our best advantage, but when we look back later we realize that everything really did work out for our greatest good. Judge Thomas Troward in The Edinburgh Lectures on Mental Science explains it this way, “But suppose, when we reach a point where some momentous decision has to be made, we happen to decide wrongly? On the hypothesis that the end is already secured you cannot decide wrongly.” That is indeed a startling statement, yet if we examine it closely we can understand his spiritual logic.
There is a Divine Intelligence operating through the mind of every person and that intelligence is all-knowing. When we establish a goal in mind and believe that it will come to pass, then this Intelligence takes over and directs us into the right action necessary to get the job done. Certainly we avoid any rash action which goes against our better judgment, but we can be certain that the choices we are called upon to make will be made toward our best interests once our objective is firmly planted in our mind. We then can release any feelings of anxiety and worry, knowing that we are guided and directed into right decisions.
All decisions I am called upon to make today are already made in the Mind of God, and I quietly and confidently receive them as they are needed.

James Munson   (Early New Thought writer)

There isn’t a thing in the world that has ever been done, there is not a thing in the world that ever will be done, that first is not a thought or an idea. If an architect builds a skyscraper, he must first have the idea of the type of building, then draw the blueprint, before it can be constructed, But he had to have the idea, and the idea is what comes into effect.

The thing that is so marvelous for all of us, and so simple, is the fact that you can always choose your ideas.
What kind of life would you have? Tell me your life, and I’ll tell you what you have been thinking. That applies to each and every one of us. You can always choose your own thought, your blueprint of the life you are building for yourself. Nobody else can choose it for you.

That very simple fact – that you have free choice of thought – is really dynamite. It is the answer to your regeneration or degeneration.

Nobody else can make your choice for you. Nobody can change your thinking for you. You can listen to me, you can listen to every metaphysical teacher in the world, read every book on the subject, but you have to do it for yourself.

 

Dear Friends:

Thoughts create everything.  Most folks spend their time thinking about what they don’t want, and then they are surprised that it shows up again in their life. We keep alive what we think, act, speak and focus on. Everything begins in thought.  Dr. Fox tells us, “The law of the universe is thought first, and then expression; and never can this law be reversed.”

We have the mental capacity to draw and embody the creative ideas to form the nucleus for the mental equivalents of the good we desire.

In “Sparks of Truth”  Emmet Fox stated: “Man is not what he thinks he is….but what he thinks….he is!”

 As our thinking rises to a higher comprehension of the nature of Spirit – the Source of love, health, life and abundance – automatically our thought patterns are improved and become more productive of good in our lives.  We must come to affirm that our thoughts and ideas are more Divine like in their nature.  We need to become more focused on getting our thoughts straightened out, than about the results that will be achieved, for they will follow automatically.  Clear thinking is what we call scientific prayer or spiritual mind treatment.  We must watch our thoughts carefully and not become discouraged!

Today I am reborn spiritually! I completely detach myself from the old ways of thinking and I bring Divine love, light and truth definitely into my experience.  I consciously feel love from everyone I meet.  Mentally I say to everyone I contact, “I see the God in you and I know you see the God in me.”  I practice this morning, noon and night.  It is a living part of me.  I am reborn spiritually now, because all day long I practice the Presence of God. No matter what I am doing -whether I am walking, shopping or about my daily business, whenever my thought wanders away from God or the good, I bring it back to the contemplation of His Holy Presence.

About eagles11eyes

smart, athletic, musical
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

