current

here is a current photograph of kd lang at the after midnight show:

1459243_558875584180849_6442905_n.jpg

and a TV interview with her.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtJ06YNyezM&feature=player_embedded

 

and another photo:

spikeycloselg_zps1e9abdf6.jpg

gotta keep current: current skills, current music, forever young but I like the oldies as well. Keep up so I don’t fall back.

Langston Hughes poem:

Mother to Son

By Langston Hughes 1902–1967 Langston Hughes

Well, son, I’ll tell you:
Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
It’s had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor—
Bare.
But all the time
I’se been a-climbin’ on,
And reachin’ landin’s,
And turnin’ corners,
And sometimes goin’ in the dark
Where there ain’t been no light.
So boy, don’t you turn back.
Don’t you set down on the steps
’Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.
Don’t you fall now—
For I’se still goin’, honey,
I’se still climbin’,
And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
Embedded image permalink
Autumn, not falling
Embedded image permalink

This is from another student. I cannot say her name for privacy reasons, but did want to credit her and not give the false impression that I wrote this, when I didn’t.

My father was the most calm, quiet, gentle and humble person.  His smile and twinkle in his eyes would light up a room.  He was to us (his family) the best dad/husband in the entire world!

I’d like to share one story about my father that I will never forget (I’ve condensed it quite a bit).  It is a true testimony of the human spirit and strength in times of extreme conflict.

My dad was born in 1922 in the Philippines and served in the US Navy from 1945 to 1974.  Prior to his enlistment in the Navy, he fought as a Guerilla from 1942-45 in the Philippine jungles against the Japanese.

One summer afternoon at basecamp, he was summoned by his commanding officer to a hut.  His commanding officer greeted him and proceeded to order my father to kill a very young Japanese prisoner of war; execution style.  When the commanding officer left the hut, my father untied the young soldier and allowed him to escape out the back door of the hut.

Fast forward to 2 weeks later; my father and three of his comrades were captured by the Japanese and held in a POW camp.  A few days had passed and one morning they found themselves outside in front of a hut; they were going to be executed.  To my father utter surprise, the Japanese soldier that was ordered to kill them was the same soldier he let live only weeks earlier.  When the Japanese soldier recognized my dad, he let my dad run free. As my dad was running towards the jungle to escape, he heard three shots in the distance.

About eagles11eyes

smart, athletic, musical
This entry was posted in kd lang, poetry, school paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

