paper passed

my paper passed the rubric.  Professor said, ” Congratulations [my name-redacted]! Your portfolio meets the rubric criteria for credit. What time will you be able to defend?

now to defend it:

 

1. Describe a significant strength and weakness of your program review;

one strength is to see the frameworks of the NCRP program put into action before the program even came into existence by examining these women’s accomplishments, and actions.

a weakness is that I think I repeated myself, but in that defense, a lot of the concepts and assignments also kind of repeated themselves.  also, I couldn’t remember everything.  Tubbs model of communication.

2. How does your critical question relate to your professional background and education? I want to be a teacher and a minister and have a healing ministry and play the harp.  I want to convey to young women and adults that their experiences can bring good for society and that these great women can be role models rather than the scantily-clad singers they are currently trying to emulate.

3. How were you able to integrate the best practices from your NCRP coursework and the Handbook of Conflict Resolution to develop your Literature Review?   in the literature review and satisfactory solution, I saw examples of Mediation, negotiation and what Erbe (2003) calls second-track diplomacy.  that really stood out to me.

4. How did you demonstrate critical and independent thinking in your satisfactory solution?  I applied what the literature review and what I learned form examining these women’s actions and work and applied to how I could , don’t want to say, copy but how I could use their examples in my practice. stand up for what is wrong and try to make it right.

5. Describe how you grounded your future program in market research.  i asked the church if I could teach a bible study class and prepared a lesson plan. I also visited a local charter school. My mother was a teacher and administrator with Rancho cucamonga schools, so I knew whom to contact about maybe having a program in the schools. however, they already have a system set up.
Questions from Portfolio Guidelines (I will ask two of the three):

1. Summarize one NCRP graduate elective that was not included in your program review;   NCR 544 ADR the one with ellman. We looked at a supreme court case and I chose Tinker vs. des Moines.
2. Describe the process you used to develop your outline of future program; it was more, what od I want to do. I am a christian and I believe God wants me to be a peacemaker. and to tell you the truth, I really liked this program. I could see myself doing this and having been an active member of a church, I could see this fitting into the goal of a ministry. also, Deborah thomas mediated conflicts at churches as well as at the Riverside court.
3. How did the knowledge you acquired in the NCRP program change your professional or personal vision about conflict resolution? I saw it is more than just resolving conflicts. yea marriages, landlord/tenant and business, but also that there is a restorative justice and diplomacy with the Secretary of state.

Questions about your portfolio (I will ask one of the two)
1. During a job interview, you are asked, “I see you have a graduate degree in Negotiation, Conflict Resolution, and Peacebuilding. What was your thesis topic?”
2. I will ask a question from the limitations you discussed in your portfolio or ask about a limitation you may have missed in your portfolio. cost, institutions already having an in-house system don’t want to change the culture.

About eagles11eyes

smart, athletic, musical
This entry was posted in school paper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.