see

I see you

I see through you

at least I think I do

 

I know parts about you that you don’t know

because you are not aware.

Same with me. I am not as superior as i think. you could provide feedback.

that’s your perception and I may get defensive. but it may be true.

I will have to think about that.

 

If you can’t see my mirrors

I can’t see you

 

If you can’t see my mirrors

I can’t see you

Because I am so self-absorbed

I only see the reflection

The image I try to keep and you never get close to the real me

You reach out and touch

But there is only glass

 

and you can’t even tell there’s a smoke screen

to keep you from seeing clearly.

 

and if you get too close

I shatter

 

That’s what happened last time

Last time I was touched

I saw the hand reaching

And it smashed through

And shattered me

 

And I only see a reflection of you

Of course, you are standing right next to me

 

All I have to do is turn

But then my eyes wouldn’t be on the mirror

or on myself anymore

I would have to stop being so self-absorbed for that

To really see you

 

But you’re looking in the mirror too

You know it’s a mirror, right?

 

Because if you can’t see my mirrors, I can’t see you

 

I look away

so

I can’t see you

 

 

About eagles11eyes

smart, athletic, musical
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

