female dogs, bitches and recovery

a females dog is loving, loyal, has a cute little butt (or sometimes a big one) and loves you and thinks you are neat.  A female dog is called a bitch,  a word that has been hijacked to mean , well mean spirited and cruel and something men, or sometimes me, has used the word to hurt someone and to inform them they are hurtful to me and mean to me and stop it. When I feel attacked, I don’t drink over it anymore, but I do lash out. Instead, I have to realize the person who hurt me, is hurt himself, or herself.  I also realize though that some people use intimidation, bullying and threats to feel empowered. I do that sometimes-it doesn’t work. Instead, I ask my higher power to help me overcome. that works!

I’m a dog: daughter of God, I’m a cog in the wheel, child of god, doing my part. I am loyal, sweet, bark when threatened and I have a cute butt.

 

this is what Seth says:

Widespread confusion about what it takes to be strong

Sometimes we confuse strength with:

  • Loudness
  • Brusqueness
  • An inability to listen
  • A resistance to seeing the world as it is
  • An unwillingness to compromise small things to accomplish big ones
  • Fast talking
  • Bullying
  • External unflappability
  • Callousness
  • Lying
  • Policies instead of judgment
  • …and being a jerk.

Well, once you put it that way, it’s pretty clear that none of these things are actually signs of strength.

In fact, they are symptoms of brittleness, of insecurity and of a willful disconnect from the things that matter.

Individuals, organizations, brands and leaders all have a chance to be strong. And can just easily choose to be jerks.

Because it is a choice, isn’t it?

I think it’s up to us not to get them confused, and to accidentally trust the wrong behaviors or the wrong people.

Strength begins with unwavering resilience, not brittle aggression.

Elizabeth Vargas tells of her struggle with anxiety and alcoholism. Could totally relate.

#grateful to be sober today.

#fighting chance

# anxiety go away, I’m gonna face another day

 

About eagles11eyes

smart, athletic, musical
This entry was posted in health, poetry, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

